PTI is the first opposition party to win by-elections by sweep

PTI won 15 of the 20 seats in the Punjab Assembly, defeating the turncoats who abandoned it a few months earlier.

Infosette (News): The Pakistan Tehreek e Insaaf (PTI), which won the by-elections with a resounding victory, has become the first opposition party in the history of Punjab. 


PTI won 15 of the 20 seats in the Punjab Assembly, displacing the disaffected members who had abandoned it a few months prior and cast their ballots for Hamza Shehbaz Sharif in the race for chief minister.

Many leading politicians, including Zawar Warraich, Faisal Jaboana, Mehr Aslam, Saeed Niwani, Malik Nauman Langrial, Ajmal Cheema, and Mian Khalid Mehmood, who had previously enjoyed benefits and privileges as ministers and advisers in the cabinet of the former chief minister Sardar Usman Buzdar, were soundly defeated.

Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokher and Saif-ud-Din Khosa, two former MNAs, also won while defeating PMLN candidates.

Makhdum Syed Zain Qureshi, a sitting MNA from Multan, also avenged the defeat of his father Makhdum Shah Mehmood Qureshi in the most recent general elections. Salman Naeem, the former PP 217 PTI MPA, was defeated by him.

Inamullah Niazi, a former MNA and the brother of the late Najeebullah Niazi, defeated Saeed Niwani for the Bhakkar seat. The entire Jehangir Khan Tareen group, which included Tahir Randhawa from Layyah and his two former Lodhran MPAs, lost.

PTI won three of the four seats in Lahore, which is regarded as the PMLN’s administrative centre. Mian Akram Usman, running in PP-158, defeated Ahsan Sharafat, running for the PMLN. Nazir Chohan, the PMLN candidate from PP 167, also fell short to Shabbir Gujjer of the PTI by a significant margin.

Malik Zaheer Khokhar defeated Ch Amin Zulqernain, the previous winner from this seat in the 2018 general elections, who is the brother of Aun Chaudhry.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.